T minus 10

As I write this post it’s just about ten hours in my timezone until the madness begins. The madness I refer to, and will continuously refer to, is otherwise known as NaNoWriMo: National Novel Writing Month. Of course, the project has gone far beyond national and thousands of us all around the world sign up for a month of literary abandon.

Thanks to a friend who participated last year and who will also participate this year, I am finally taking the plunge into NaNo madness. For years I have considered and wondered but ultimately backed out, or genuinely forgotten about it until it was too late. If it weren’t for Emily reminding me, I would most likely miss out on this year as well.

As NaNo approaches I’m trying to make at least a vague shadow of an outline for the novel I will try to write. It proves difficult, just as I’m sure the entire month will be difficult. I haven’t written anything in over a year apart from essays. I’ve completely lost confidence in my ability to write, but my desire to do so is still burning hot. I’m using NaNo as a tool to get me back on the horse and writing again. It will be difficult, and I will struggle and get stuck and disillusioned. But I’m going to try.

Mark Twain said:

The secret of getting ahead is getting started. The secret of getting started is breaking your complex overwhelming tasks into small manageable tasks, and then starting on the first one.”

And so I shall.

I will (finally) try to keep this blog updated as I slave my way through November and wordcounts so that those of you who are interested can follow my progress. And sometimes my utter lack of progress.

Please comment, if not on this post then on future posts. The truth is that I will need friendly support in order to do this.

Edit: Here’s the link to my NaNo page, where my wordcount should be constantly updated: http://www.nanowrimo.org/en/participants/sparklyfingers

5 thoughts on “T minus 10

  1. Kim says:

    Even this blogpost is written well, so I don’t doubt you’ll do wonderfully. Just start, see how far you come.. :)

  2. Anna says:

    You’re awesome, you can do it! And I will be faithfully stalking you through the entire project.

    Yours,

    Creepy McFangirl

  3. Cal Harding says:

    I agree entirely with Kim. Even though I’m sat next to you and have /will tell you the same constantly, I will write it here so that I have documented evidence to use against you. (muhahah). You can write. You can write well. It will be awesome.
    Love you lots! <3

  4. Jessica says:

    Frig! I am SO UNPREPARED for both Halloween and Nanowrimo! Thank you for reminding me about both. :P

  5. Emily says:

    I’m not at all prepared for NaNo/Halloween. Only work I’ve done to either is dishes :P I’ll race you to 50k! Let’s go!! :D

    p.s. Friendly race, of course. I don’t think I’ll have the epic word sprints that I had last year. I’m hoping to make writing routine again, not burn myself out.

Leave a Reply

