It has begun

And so it is November 1st and NaNoWriMo has begun. I didn’t write anything as the clock struck midnight last night, I decided to take it easy, scribble some notes, and start for real this morning. This morning I scribbled down some more notes and ideas, before running out for some errands.

As I was rolling around in bed this morning, I suddenly had a strike of brilliance that molded my entire plot into something actually interesting. It’s fascinating how these things happen, really. It didn’t have much to do with anything and was completely contrary to what I had said it would be to begin with. But, I do think it will work! The characters remain the same, but their backdrop is more interesting now. It actually -exists-!

I started to do some actual writing early this afternoon and I’m very surprised at how easily my first chapter got done. I haven’t read it, so I can’t vouch for it’s brilliance. But at least I’ve completed a part of that which is the point of NaNo: get words on paper. Virtual paper, but still. I’ll try to read back tonight, though maybe I should let it lie for a few days so I don’t get completely obsessed with polishing the first chapter and suddenly it’s November 30th.

Eventually snippets shall be posted, as I need opinions. I’m not sure if my main character comes across the way I want her to. She might just be obnoxious.

More later!

4 thoughts on “It has begun

  1. Emily says:

    My advice? Don’t read it. Not unless you’re absolutely stuck.

    I started re-reading mine and had this urge to do all this editing. Something that is fine for every month not November. I’m still finding my character’s voice and the pace of the book is completely messed up right now. It has one pace right now: slow as peanut butter rolling uphill in a blizzard. I’m going to have to cut 2/3rds of it when I revise. At least.

    I love it when the stories display their own life and take you in different directions. Sounds like you’ve had some amazing inspiration :D Gogogo!

    • Yeah I’ve sort of decided that if there’s a day I’m totally stuck, it’s okay to go back and edit a bit. Not obsessive editing like I’m usually doing, though. I let Boyfriend read through it last night just before bed, and we briefly talked through the chapter. That was nice and productive, some notes on what I can work on if I finish and go back to revise.

      Anyway, it’s about time to slosh out some more words!

  2. Anna says:

    I agree: don’t read, and keep going! (though you could show it to me to read FOR you, of course ;)
    I’m so very proud of you, keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

